Guest Reviews

Below are some of the reviews we have received from our guests in 2017. Check out our page on TripAdvisor for more guest comments...

Countryside idyll

A truly beautiful setting and very peaceful, the Mill has everything one would expect in terms of modern day comfort but still has charm and character.
Laura and Rowan are the perfect hosts and the welcome basket is a lovely touch.
We enjoyed the pool and gardens and sitting out on the patio, looking at the fabulous views was so relaxing.
Our gite was tastefully decorated, clean and very well appointed.
Cognac itself, a short drive away was charming and a visit to one of the distilleries is a must!
Thoroughly recommended and would visit again in a heartbeat.

September 2018

It felt like staying with friends!

We took all the Gites at the Moulin de Chazotte for a large family party for two weeks. Laura and Rowan are the most generous and delightful of hosts. All the Gites are beautifully appointed and comfortable, and having separate kitchens and places to chill out suited a group of families brilliantly. The gites are close enough to share big family meals on the terraces, with the full moon filling the wide open skies and the bats fluttering across the lovely open space in front. We loved having the dogs and chickens around - my two year old grand daughter spent hours playing with them all! The barn and the pool too are wonderful shared spaces - what a lovely pool - and the barn makes a perfect place to play all sorts of games together and a cool respite from the sun at midday. But the best part of the whole thing is the attentiveness and care that Laura and Rowan show to their guests - it really does feel like staying with friends.

August 2018

Idyllic French holiday

Tucked away in the picturesque French countryside, this collection of charming gîtes is absolutely perfect for family holidays - there's plenty of green space for kids to run around (accompanied by the two adorable resident doggies!) and the owners put on fun activities for little ones such as open air cinema evenings. Rowan and Laura are the most wonderful hosts and went above and beyond to make us feel at home. The welcome basket was packed full of homemade goodies baked by Laura (I'm still dreaming about those white chocolate and raspberry cakes!) The surrounding area is absolutely stunning and we enjoyed a Cognac tour at Remy Martin one afternoon, but perhaps what made this holiday extra special was the owners' warm hospitality. Would highly recommend and will definitely visit again.

November 2017

A Little Sanctuary in Wine Country

My husband and I stayed here along with another couple in the Hibou Git and had the most lovely weekend. Hosts Laura and Rowan are fantastic hosts and really made our whole stay so enjoyable. I stay in a lot of vacation properties and there are very few that would prepare an entire welcome basket of local delicacies for when you arrive. For them, it just seems to be standard practice with all guests. The area is great for cycling and exploring quaint French towns or just hanging out on the property, which has lots of common areas to relax. We also visited the Remy Martin Cognac House in Cognac based on Rowan and Laura's recommendation and it was an excellent way to get to know the history of the area in a social way. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. I'd love to come back in the warmer months as well :)

November 2017

Restful and very family friendly

We stayed once more in Le Hibou and it was like coming home. The welcoming goodie box was pounced upon by the girls and declared gorgeous. Staying at Le Moulin is so relaxing, there is hardly any traffic on the little country roads and they're perfect for strolling or cycling along. The pool is a good size and well-maintained and the grounds are perfect for the kids to run around without any supervision. We visited Bordeaux for a day which is a stunning city and best reached using the train as parking can be very expensive. Well worth the one and a half hour drive because you're going to spend most of the day there. We did a self-directed walking tour round and were able to stop and start.We visited the Aquarium at La Rochelle, absolutely brilliant but be prepared to queue to get in, followed by the Old Port and town. Saintes is also well worth visiting, but even just driving through the countryside, with its vineyards and sunflowers was wonderful. Food shopping is easily done from several supermarkets in Cognac or local smaller shops, 10 - 15 mins drive away. Fresh fish is the best choice, both for variety and cost. For eating out, I would still recommend La Scala and Le Coq D'Or in Cognac or there's a very good Pizza van that sits up in Cherves village on specific nights. I would have no hesitation in recommending Le Moulin to anyone; it's perfect for a family holiday and warm and relaxing for mum and dad. We loved it :)

August 2017

A beautiful home from home!!

Our first time at Moulin de Chazotte and we absolutely loved it. It is a charming and peaceful setting in the middle of the surrounding vineyards. We stayed in La Principale gite which was very well equipped and recently redecorated and refurnished to a high standard. A large family kitchen and sitting room provided ample space as did the bedrooms and bathrooms. The property has lots of original charm but with all modern conveniences. The pool is lovely and the pool area is well furnished. The grounds are extensive and our children loved to explore. Laura and Rowan are perfect hosts along with Remy the dog and the chickens!! the location is ideal for exploring the Charente area and the coast is only a day trip away. We look forward to returning soon!!

August 2017

Another fantastic holiday!

Another fantastic holiday at Le Moulin de Chazotte. This is our second year and Laura, Rowan and Remy have worked hard over the last year. Decorating the Gites, new chairs and shade round the pool, vegetable patch and chickens. We settled in straight away, our home from home. The Gite is comfy and has everything you could want and if not Laura and Rowan are always very helpful. The peaceful location is amazing, looking out onto vines and a short walk round the corner to a sunflower field which is a lovely walk after a delicious BBQ on the terrace for dinner. Cognac is a lovely place to visit and a little further is La Rochelle lots of shops, restaurants and beautiful harbour. 

We miss playing with Remy (black lab) and watching the crazy chickens. Movie night was amazing and a great way to meet our neighbors. Thank you Laura, Rowan and Remy for another memorable holiday. Can't wait to return.

August 2017

Everything we could wish for!

Such a wonderful holiday. The setting is wonderful and the mill is enchanting. We particularly enjoyed the salt water pool and the table tennis in the barn. Our gite, Le Hibou, was clean, comfortable and well equipped. The welcome goodies were very much appreciated as we arrived on a French Bank Holiday.


Laura and Rowan helped us plan our trip to Remy Martin and to hire canoes on the Charante in Cognac which was a great. 
So, if you want to just relax on your terrace or by the pool this is the perfect place but there is also so much to see and do close by.

May 2017

Another brilliant holiday at Le Moulin

Our third trip to Le Moulin de Chazotte and each time in a different gite. L'Abricotier was perfect for an out of season break, with it's lovely wood burning stove and efficient heating it was really warm, cosy and comfortable. It was also delightful to return and see how much Laura and Rowan have done since buying the property in April 2016. Each time we have been they have made more changes to make each gite very comfortable and individual. They offer really high quality accommodation and are wonderful hosts - they should be really proud of what they have achieved.

Even in February there is a lot to do in the area, this time we visited the Remy Martin and Baron Otard Cognac distilleries, had lunch at the Coq d'Or and dinner at La Scala, both in the centre of Cognac. We also had some lovely walks through the vineyards and woods around the gite, watching the farmers working on the vines and spotting some of the local wildlife like the coypus in the river and one evening we even saw a small family of wild boar.

Thank you Laura and Rowan for a lovely week and we look forward to returning again in September with the whole family.

February 2017

Please reload

Contact :​

+33 (0)5 45 32 15 95
moulindechazotte@outlook.com
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Trip Advisor Social Icon

SIRET Number : 821 008 018 00011